Update

It’s alive!….

It’s been a while since I’ve posted (not like I had many posts to start with, hehe), but Aragoen’s recent entry spurred me to write this.

The past few months have really opened my eyes to a lot of things.  I have been studying diligently for the BSCI exam, but I’ve been pre-occupied about my future and career.  Basically, I’ve been asking myself what good a paper certificate would be without the accompanying experience.  The answer, of course, is “not much.”  I came to a realization that at my current job, even if they granted me the networking responsibilities I’ve requested, my exposure would still be pretty limited due to the infrastructure of our company.  After much deliberation (and support from my friends and family), I decided to hand in my two-weeks notice last week.  It wasn’t an easy decision to make, but I know it was something I had to do to get where I want to be.

I don’t mind taking less pay or starting at the bottom rung.  My girlfriend (CPA) is the real earner anyways, lol.  I know that I need to get my foot into the door somehow.  Actually, this reminds me of when I was trying to first break into the IT industry.  Leaving my job was a bold step, but I know it was the right choice.

Now comes to fun/hard part.  What exactly is the “bottom rung” when it comes to network engineering?  What type of jobs should I be looking into?   Do I need to work at a NOC?  I will probably take a small break from my studies and research these types of questions, but if you have any suggestions, please feel free to leave a comment!

I’m going to take my time and find the proper job.  Honestly, my vacation last week was the first time I’ve taken a whole week off from work in ~4-5 years.  I guess I could use some time off.  At the same time, though, I believe this will provide the boost I need for the next chapter of my life.

About this entry